CFDA Elects Board Members Ashley Olsen, Deborah Lloyd, Prabal Gurung

Ashley Olsen, Deborah Lloyd, And Prabal Gurung All On Board At The CFDA

New CFDA Board Members

Photo: WENN

The most recent Olsen sister fashion success story involves just half of the dynamic duo: Ashley Olsen. The Council of Fashion Designers of America elected Ashley onto its board last month alongside Kate Spade president and chief creative officer Deborah Lloyd and Prabal Gurung. They’ll be joining a group that includes the likes of Tracey Reese, Ralph Lauren, Jenna Lyons, and David Yurman. As co-founders of the high-end fashion line The Row as well as the successful contemporary line Elizabeth & James, both Ashley and her sister were named members of the CFDA back in 2009. Ashley’s current appointment, however, is a distinct honor; we’re willing to bet she’s the youngest member in some time.

The CFDA board consists of a total of 22 members who are either based in the United States or are Americans working abroad; and an executive team where Diane von Furstenberg reigns as president. And like most fancy fashion industry parties, the board is invite-only. This year’s three new designers are going to replace Yeohlee Teng, Kenneth Cole and Isabel Toldeo (who, strangely, seems not to have a website. Team Toledo needs to get on that, this is 2013!). The departing trio will still serve the CFDA on the Emertius Board, which allows them to still retain their title without have to do any of the work. Other notable names on said board include Calvin Klein, Carolina Herrera, and Donna Karan.

While we don’t know the nitty gritty of what goes on in board meetings–most likely commendable efforts to promote the CFDA’s mission, “To strengthen the influence and success of American Designers in the global economy”–we sure would be interested in being a fly on that wall in that room. In any case, congrats to the new members and we look forward to seeing future CFDA efforts to support American designers.